Skip to main content

Student Organizations

Student Organizations 

The Eastern Progress  
The Eastern Progress is EKU's student-produced, weekly newspaper. This award-winning newspaper includes upcoming events, articles on student life, notices of important dates and policy changes; in short, it keeps you up to date on what's happening, where and with whom on campus. The Eastern Progress is FREE and is widely distributed, every Thursday, in the lobbies of most campus buildings.

2020-21 Editorial Staff:

  • Adviser -- Tricia Kelley
  • Editor-in-chief -- Zach Combest
  • News Editor -- Kaliya Mayfield
  • Opinions Editor/Graphic Designer -- Kara Holbrook
  • Features Editor -- Tamera Crutcher
  • Sports Editor -- Cherish Simpson
  • Visuals Editor -- Joe Steele
  • Business Manager -- Seth Littrell
Society of Professional Journalists (SPJ)

The Society of Professional Journalists is dedicated to the perpetuation of a free press as the cornerstone of our nation and our liberty. To ensure that the concept of self-government outlined by the U.S. Constitution remains a reality into future centuries, the American people must be well informed in order to make decisions regarding their lives, and their local and national communities. It is the role of journalists to provide this information in an accurate, comprehensive, timely and understandable manner.

The Society of Professional Journalists works to improve and protect journalism. The organization is the nation’s most broad-based journalism organization, dedicated to encouraging the free practice of journalism and stimulating high standards of ethical behavior. Founded in 1909 as Sigma Delta Chi, SPJ promotes the free flow of information vital to a well-informed citizenry; works to inspire and educate the next generation of journalists; and protects First Amendment guarantees of freedom of speech and press.

2018-19 SPJ Officers:

  • Adviser -- Tricia Kelley
  • President -- Zach Combest
  • Vice President --  TBA
  • Secretary/Treasurer -- 

Public Relations Student Society of America (PRSSA)
Become a member of the Public Relations Student Society of America. Gain knowledge of the public relations field, develop leadership skills and be exposed to professionals. You do not have to be a member to participate, but to enjoy the full benefits you must join.

2020-21 PRSSA Officers:

  • Adviser -- Dr. Jim Gleason
  • President -- Riley Linnehan
  • Vice President -- Kara Holbrook
  • Treasurer -- Megan Meyer
  • Social Media Coordinator -- Faith Coffman

Kappa Tau Alpha

Kappa Tau Alpha is a college honor society that recognizes academic excellence and promotes scholarship in journalism and mass communication. Membership must be earned by excellence in academic work at one of the colleges and universities that have chapters. Selection for membership is a mark of highest distinction and honor.

Adviser -- Dr. Jim Gleason, APR 

Faculty Members: 

  • Dr. Deborah Givens  
  • Dr. Jim Gleason 
  • Dr. Kathy Previs
  • Dr. Ginny Whitehouse
Open /*deleted href=#openmobile*/