Skip to main content

April 2017

Kerry Morgan named 2017 Distinguished Alumna

Kerry Morgan, 2017 EKU Department of Communication Distinguished Alumna

Kerry Sigler Morgan, a 1992 Journalism graduate, was recently named the 2017 EKU Department of Communication Distinguished Alumna.  

Department faculty have a busy month of publishing!

The past few weeks have seen a burst of scholarly publishing from members of the Department of Communication Faculty. 

Senior Honors Legacy of Bath Co. Saddlemaker

From left, Bobby Rogers, Langley Franklin, and Gary Hunt

It has been called the Cadillac of all saddles.

Many knowledgeable horsemen consider the “Kentucky Springseat” the finest riding saddle ever made, but few know the story of its creator, Eugene Minihan, who fashioned the unique product in his shop in Owingsville, Kentucky, from the late 1880s until his death in 1926.

Cogdill part of new KET documentary team.

Chad Cogdill, associate professor of Broadcasting and Electronic Media, is part of the team that recently created "The Kentucky Riding Saddle: A Quilted History," a new documentary now showing on KET-KY. Other creators include Dr. Stephanie McSpirit and Neil Kasiak.

Journalism grad joins The Springfield Sun

Tyler Brown

Tyler Brown, a 2015 journalism graduate, has joined the staff of The Springfield Sun as a general news and local government reporter.

Brown also covers high school sports, including baseball, basketball, golf and tennis.

Open /*deleted href=#openmobile*/