Skip to main content

Inside Look

EKU grad Emily Boyer wins Edward R. Murrow Award

Emily Boyer

Emily Boyer, an Eastern Kentucky University graduate, has won a 2015 regional Edward R. Murrow Award for “Feature Reporting.” She worked with Frannie Smith and Rich Egger also of Tri States Public Radio on the feature entitled, “Planes, Trains and Automobiles.”

Dr. Parry lectures on C-Span3.

Dr. Parry speaks on C-Cpan3

C-Span3 recently featured Pam Parry, author of Eisenhower: The Public Relations President,  to talk about how President Dwight Eisenhower transformed the relationship between the president and public relations. She cited examples from his days as a military commander during World War II to the end of his life. Dr. Parry argued that President Eisenhower set the prece

Dr. Rudick wins Critical Thinking Teacher of the Year Award.

Dr. Karen Rudick

Dr. Karen L. Rudick, Professor of Communication Studies, has received a 2014-2015 Critical Thinking Teacher of the Year Award. The award recognizes outstanding faculty members who have had substantial positive  effects on developing their students’ critical/creative thinking skills.   

EKU hosts First Amendment Celebration April 13-16

Eastern Kentucky University’s SPJ Chapter will host the annual First Amendment Celebration April 13 through 16. Events include:

Dr. Parry to speak at Eisenhower Presidential Library

Dr. Pam Parry, author of "Eisenhower:The Public Relations President," will speak at the Eisenhower Presidential Library, Museum and Boyhood Home on March 31. Beginning at 7 p.m. in the Visitors Center auditorium, the free program is open to the public. 

Hicks awarded PGA Communications, Publications Internship

Craig Hicks

"Journalism minor has really helped the resume!" 

Craig Hicks, a junior PGA Golf Management major from King William, Va., has been awarded a summer internship at the PGA of America headquarters in Palm Beach Gardens, Fla.

EKU students, faculty provide media content for SOAR Initiative

Dr. Ginny Whitehouse and writing students

Students and faculty in Eastern Kentucky University’s Department of Communication are continuing to provide media content for the Shaping Our Appalachian Region (SOAR) initiative.

Progress staff wins Kentucky Press Association awards.

2015 KPA winners

The Kentucky Press Association recently recognized The Eastern Progress among the winners for 

Dr. Keltner-Previs elected President Elect of PRSA chapter.

Dr. Kathy Keltner-Previs

The Public Relations Society of America Thoroughbred Chapter recently announced its 2015 officers. Dr. Kathy Keltner-Previs, Associate Professor of Public Relations, was elected President Elect for the coming year.

Open /*deleted href=#openmobile*/