Skip to main content

Katelynn Griffin receives second Harry Barfield Scholarship.

Katelynn Griffin receives second Harry Barfield Scholarship.

The Kentucky Broadcasters Association recently announced the recipients of its 20th annual Harry Barfield Scholarship awards program.

The four new recipients who will be receiving $2,500 scholarships for the 2011-12 academic year are: Emily Cedargren, University of Kentucky; Cameron Epperson, Western Kentucky University; Aimee Jewell, University of Louisville; and Brianne Kelley, Western Kentucky University.

The scholarships are awarded through a competitive application process which
includes academic achievement, the recommendation of a faculty member, and
extracurricular activities. The awards are renewable for a second year provided
recipients continue to meet specified criteria.

In addition, four students who received the KBA Harry Barfield Scholarship in
2010-11 have had their awards, also valued at $2,500, renewed for the 2011-12 academic year: Jonathan Beam, University of Kentucky; Katelynn Griffin, Eastern Kentucky University; Jacob Ryle, Western Kentucky University; and Matthew Wagner, Western Kentucky University.

"The Kentucky Broadcasters Association is proud to be able to help these
talented students pursue their higher education," said Gary White, president and CEO of KBA. "This year's total of $20,000 in scholarship awards means that the KBA now has awarded more than $150,000 in scholarships since the inception of the program in the 1992-93 academic year. Many of these recipients have gone on to successful careers in broadcasting."

The program is named in honor of Harry Barfield, the late president and chairman
of WLEX-TV in Lexington.

Published on May 13, 2010

Open /*deleted href=#openmobile*/